Monday, May 18, 2009

PRP took away the votes of TDP

The Congress’ voter base has remained intact while the Telugu Desam lost heavily to the Praja Rajyam, according to the vote percentage each party registered in the 2009 elections.The TD got a combined average of 25.64 per cent votes in the Lok Sabha and Assembly elections, against 37.59 per cent in 2004. The Praja Rajyam polled about 15 per cent, pulling away one third of the TD vote base.

With this vote percentage and its performance, the Praja Rajyam qualifies for recognition. It can retain its symbol as it got 15 per cent against the mandatory 6 per cent of the total votes polled.
Notably, the party candidates lost deposits in 22 out of 40 Lok Sabha seats it contested.
The mismatch between the Congress’ performance in the LS and Assembly elections is due to about 3 per cent cross-vote against its Assembly candidates.

The party got 38.95 per cent votes in the LS elections which came down to 36.07 per cent in Assembly.The TD gained from this: its votes in the Assembly polls went up to 26.36 from 24.93 per cent.The 2009 poll statistics show that Congress got 38.95 per cent votes in the LS elections followed by the TD with 24.93. The TRS, CPI and the CPI(M) polled 6.14, 1.58 and 1.27 per cent. The combined vote of the Grand Allaince was still two per cent less than that of Congress.
The BJP polled 3.75 per cent of votes and the BSP got 0.91 per cent votes. While the PR failed to open its score in the LS with 15.26 per cent vote, the TRS with half of that number won two seats.

In the Assembly polls, the Congress got 36.07, TD 26.36, TRS 5.38, CPI(M) 1.89, CPI 1.3 and BJP 3.18 per cent of the votes.Though the PR’s vote percentage in the Assembly poll is not known, it is expected to be slightly above 15 per cent.The PR secured second place only in Visakhapatnam, Kakinada and Amalapuram Lok Sabha and 31 Assembly seats.


Blog Archive